the black vault
spywriter spywriter spywriter spywriter spywriter spywriter spy bestsellerespionage bestsellerbest spy thrillerbest goodreads novel

Targeted Directory of literary agents and editors of commercial fiction

LITERARY AGENCIES:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D ] [ E - F ] [ G ] [ H ] [ I - J ] [ K ] [ L ]
[ M ] [ N ] [ O - P - Q ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T ] [ U - V - W ] [ Z ]

PUBLISHERS / EDITORS:

[ A ] [ B ] [ C ] [ D - F ] [ G - H ]
[ I - L ] [ M - O ] [ P ] [ R ] [ S ] [ T - Z ]

spywriter See what it took to publish my first novel spywriter

Aberdeen Bay

Aberdeen Bay is a traditional, mainstream, and independent publisher that strives to publish the best books. Quality is our top concern. If your manuscript is truly outstanding, then we will publish your work regardless if you are a published author or not.

Another important character of Aberdeen Bay is relationship building. We truly understand that writing a book is an important undertaking and we treasure your work. We like to cultivate long-term relationships with our authors by providing them with dedicated editorial and marketing assistance. By joining Aberdeen Bay, an author will be able to network with other authors, gain knowledge of the publishing industry, and receive our continuous support.

Aberdeen Bay has published several award winners in 2009 including The Dead Guy, Uncle Si's Secret and Death of a Perfect Man.

www.aberdeenbay.com

***

Abingdon Press
201 Eighth Avenue So.,
Nashville, TN 37202
www.abingdonpress.com
Barbara Scott
bscott@abingdonpress.com
suspense

***

Academy of Chicago Publishers
363 West Erie Street, 7E,
Chicago, Illinois 60610
www.academychicago.com

By and large, Academy Chicago does not publish books with explicit, gratuitous sex and violence; we no longer publish science fiction or thrillers, neither of which do very well for us. We do not publish cookbooks, self-help or books dealing with the supernatural--that is, anything to do with angels and life after death, although we do publish ghost stories; however, most of the latter which we do publish are classics. We do not publish horror or photography books, nor do we do children's books, other than children's classics. We do not have any Young Adult classification.

***

Advance Books Company
www.advancebooks.com
Contact: staff@advancebooks.com

***

Akashic Books, P.O. Box 1456 ,
New York, NY 10009
Tel: 718.643.9193/Fax: 718.643.9195
info@akashicbooks.com

Akashic Books is a Brooklyn-based independent company dedicated to publishing urban literary fiction and political nonfiction by authors who are either ignored by the mainstream, or who have no interest in working within the ever-consolidating ranks of the major corporate publishers.

***

Algonquin Press
127 Kingston Drive #105,
Chapel Hill NC 27514
919-967-0108; Fax: 919-933-0272.
Antonia Fusco, Editor
antonia@algonquin.com
www.algonquin.com

***

Alligator Press, Inc.,
P.O. Box 49158,
Austin TX 78765
(512)454-0496
www.alligatorpress.com
Rachelle Cruz, editor.
K Kimball
kkimball@alligatorpress.com
Pays 5-10%
Query: sase with synopsis + 5 sample chapters

***

Allison and Busby Ltd.
13 Charlotte Mews
London
W1T 4EJ
susie@allisonandbusby.com
www.allisonandbusby.com

***

Anansi Press
110 Spadina Ave., Suite 801
Toronto, ON M5V 2K4
www.anansi.ca
submissions@anansi.ca
Sarah MacLachlan, President
Sarah@anansi.ca
Janie Yoon, Editor
Janie@anansi.ca
Lynn Henry -- Moved to Doubleday Canada
lynn@anansi.ca

***

Arcade Publishing
New York, NY 10010
(212) 475-2633
www.arcadepub.com
Jeannette Seaver jmseaver@arcadepub.com
Greg Comer greg.comer@arcadepub.com
Darcy Falkenhagen darcyf@arcadepub.com
FILED FOR BANKRUPTCY IN 2009

***

Archer Books
www.archer-books.com

***

Andrew Scott Publishers
15023 Tierra Alta
Del Mar CA 92014
Phone 858-755-0088
andrewscottpublishers@juno.com

Description: "Realistic mysteries, no gratuitous violence or sex. We like unique plots and puzzles, romantic intrigue, espionage. Believable characters, scenes, well crafted, professionally edited work between 40,000-70,000 words from authors able to vigorously promote their work."

***

Atlantic Books
Ormond House
26-27 Boswell St
London WC1N 3JZ
www.atlantic-books.co.uk
Nicolas Cheetham, thrillers under Corvus imprint
Nicolascheetham@groveatlantic.co.uk
Margaret Stead, editorial director
Margaretstead@groveatlantic.co.uk

***

Avalon
Includes Carroll & Graf Publishers
161 William Street, 16th Flr.
New York, NY 10038
www.avalonbooks.com
www.carrollandgraf.com
Philip Turner philip.turner@avalonpub.com
Herman Graf herman.graf@avalonpub.com
Tina Pohlman tina.pohlman@avalonpub.com

The element of suspense is very important, but it is equally important to have a tight, well-researched, believable story line. Avoid contrived, predictable, mechanical plots and old clichés. We are now looking for longer (50,000-60,000 words), gritty, more mainstream mysteries.
Please address any inquiries regarding manuscript submissions to: editorial@avalonbooks.com

***

Avid Press
www.avidpress.com

Description: "Realistic mysteries, no gratuitous violence or sex. We like unique plots and puzzles, romantic intrigue, espionage. Believable characters, scenes, well crafted, professionally edited work between 40,000-70,000 words from authors able to vigorously promote their work."

***

Avocet Press Inc,
19 Paul Court,
Pearl River NY 10965-1539
845-620-0986; 877-4-AVOCET
Cynthia Webb
books@avocetpress.com
www.avocetpress.com

We are looking for a good story from an unusual point of view. For example, a protagonist who is interested in social issues, is angry/emotional, has a sense of humor or has dependencies. Strong, believable characters and tight plotting are requirements. We want to be surprised. We like the cutting edge. We are particularly fond of feminist mysteries.

***

 

how to get published

how to get published